Champaign County Humane Society Board of Directors

2021 - 2022 Board of Directors (Term Expires)

  • Gloria Arizaga (2024) 
  • Mark Ballard (2024)
  • Danielle Bender (2024)
  • Heather Miller (2024)
  • Anthony Pendleton (2024)
  • Dwight Raab (2022)
  • Jennifer Romine (2023)
  • Gloria Sax (2024)
  • Kristen Sackley (2022)
  • Laura Shapland (2022)
  • Darren Taylor (2024)
  • Colleen Vojak (2023)
  • Justina Koehler, DVM (2023)

Board Committees 

Executive Committee

President, Darren Taylor
Vice President, Kristen Sackley
Treasurer, Anthony Pendleton
Secretary, Jennifer Romine
At-large Member, Laura Shapland

Animal Welfare

The Animal Welfare Committee keeps abreast of current animal-welfare laws, and monitors animal well-being according to the latest CCHS policies on humane animal care and handling, and performs duties as outlined in the CCHS document: Guiding Principles and Procedures for Assuring the Quality of Animal Care.
Members:  Danielle Bender, Justina Koehler, Kristen Sackley, Gloria Sax, Darren Taylor, Karen Simmons (ex officio), Mary Tiefenbrunn (ex officio)


The Development Committee provides strategic advice and counsel to the CCHS Executive and Development Directors, works with them on fundraising events, and assists them with efforts to promote, grow, and steward supporters and members of the organization. The Development Committee may use subcommittees for special or annual projects whose membership may include ex officio members not on the Development Committee
Members:  Jennifer Romine, Danielle Bender, Darren Taylor, Sarah Sheppard (ex officio), Mary Tiefenbrunn (ex officio)

Facilities Committee

The Facilities Committee works with the CCHS staff to assess functional aspects of the property and improvements used by CCHS and plan for necessary repairs and improvements. The Facilities Committee may also assist CCHS staff in obtaining bids for substantial projects and seeking donations of goods/services related to building.
Members:  Laura Shapland, Darren Taylor, Gloria Sax, Karen Simmons (ex officio), Mary Tiefenbrunn (ex officio)

Finance/Audit Committee

The Finance/Audit Committee monitors CCHS investment accounts and makes recommendations to the Board regarding the management of those accounts. In conjunction with CCHS fund managers, the committee will propose changes in CCHS investment policy that serve the best interests of the organization. The committee will review and revise the investment policy as needed. The Finance/Audit Committee shall recommend to the Board an auditor to conduct an independent annual audit for CCHS.
Members: Anthony Pendleton, Jennifer Romine, Darren Taylor, Mary Tiefenbrunn (ex officio)

Nominating Committee

The composition and duties of this committee are specified in Article V, Section 3 of the Bylaws. When the President appoints the Nominating Committee, the President shall provide a charge to the committee. The Nominating Committee will operate in accordance with procedures and guidelines adopted by the Board.
Members: Kristen Sackley, Laura Shapland, Colleen Vojak, Darren Taylor, Sarah Sheppard (ex officio), Mary Tiefenbrunn (ex officio)

Personnel Committee

The Personnel Committee works with the Executive Director to periodically review legal issues related to staff employment, general salary guidelines, general working conditions, employment recruitment policies and employment policies.
Members:  Anthony Pendleton, Colleen Vojak, Jennifer Romine, Darren Taylor, Mary Tiefenbrunn (ex officio)

Research Policy Committee

The Research Policy Committee reviews research requests; votes on research projects being advanced to the full board for approval or denial; and assists the Board in developing policies relating to the participation of CCHS in research projects.
Members:  Justina Koehler, Colleen Vojak, Darren Taylor, Karen Simmons (ex officio), Shelter Veterinarian (ex officio)